W/E 14th June 2009

Division 1 V Mohill

In Division 1 on Sunday in Annaduff we beat Mohill by by 3-06 to 0-12 in a thriller in Annaduff. This match had everything and was a great advertisement fo Leitrim Football. Colm Beirne opened the scoring with a Mohill point. Annaduff replied with six points in a row from Ray Cox, Ml. Rowley, Joe Cox, Padraig Carroll and two from sub. Cathal Cox to leave them leading after 21 minutes by 0-06 to 0-01.Mohill then cane more into the game and scored three points before half time two frees from Colm Beirne and a Ronan Kennedy point to leave Annaduff leading by two points at the break 0-06 to 0-04.After 33 minutes the impressive Seamus Kennedy got a Mohill point , it was 5 minutes before the next score and it was a well taken goal for Annaduff by Padraig Carroll after good work in the build up by Brendan Guckian and Cathal Cox.Colm Beirne replied with a pointed free for Mohill. Referee Frank Niblock awarded Annaduff a penaly after 41 minutes with Ml. Rowley calmly slotting the spot kick home. Padraig Carroll then collected the resultant kick out, he spotted Mohill keeper Mickey Lynch off his line and Carroll lobbed the keeper with a superb kick. This left the home side leading by 3-06 to 0-06 with seventeen minutes left. This was Annaduff’s last score and Mohill finished with six points in succession from Seamus Kennedy, Philly McGuinness and four from Colm Beirne. This was a dress rehearsal for the Championship and both sides will take encouragement from the game , it was Annaduff’s best performance all season while apart from conceding three goals Mohill were impressive Annaduff :Kevin Ludlow, Matty Cox, John Faughnan, Chris Farrell, David Duignan, Dermot Reynolds, David McHugh, Brendan Guckian, Alan Cox, Ray Cox ( 0-01), Fergal Carroll, James Cox, Ml. Rowley ( 1-1, 1-0 penalty),Padraic Carroll ( 2-01), Joe Cox (0-01). Subs: Cathal Cox ( 0-02), ( for Joe Cox), Kenny Bosquette ( for D. McHugh), Gerard Reynolds ( for M.Rowley) and Gene Cox ( for M.Cox). Mohill : Mickey Lynch, Ciaran Kennedy, Michael McGuinness, Niall McGovern, Daniel Beck, Darren McLoughlin, Seamus Kennedy (0-02), Philip McGuinness (0-01),Shane Canning, Paul Early, Ronan Gallagher, Colm Beirne ( 0-08), Ronan Kennedy ( 0-01), Paul McLoughlin, John McGuinness. Subs : Chris Higgins ( for P.McLoughlin) and Gavin Kelly ( for P.Early).

Division 2 V Aughnasheelin

In Division 2 on Saturday despite an excellent performance we were beaten by Aughnasheelin by a point . Aughnaseelin got a soft goal while Kenny Bosquette had a chance of of an equaliser near the end but his free just went wide.